Top Stories

Yusuf Pathan fielded by TMC from Berhampore in Lok Sabha elections


TMC leader Mahua Moitra and Yusuf Pathan
Image Source : PTI/FILE TMC leader Mahua Moitra and Yusuf Pathan

West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress (TMC) on Sunday fielded former cricketer Yusuf Pathan from the Baharampur Lok Sabha seat. The list was announced from TMC’s mega rally held at Brigade Parada Grounds in Kolkata, where West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee said the party will contest Lok Sabha elections alone in all 42 seats in the state.

The TMC declared the candidate list for all 42 Lok Sabha seats of West Bengal, dropping at least eight sitting MPs. The ruling party also pitted another former cricketer Kriti Azad. Azad was declared the candidate from the Bardhaman-Durgapur constituency.

The party renominated 16 sitting MPs and fielded 12 women. From the Basirhat Lok Sabha seat, where Sandeshkhali is situated, TMC pitted its former MP Haji Nurul Islam by dropping sitting MP Nusrat Jahan. The TMC also renominated expelled Lok Sabha MP Mahua Moitra from Krishnanagar seat for the second consecutive term.

Also read: TMC announces candidates on all 42 Lok Sabha seats in West Bengal, Mahua Moitra re-fielded from Krishnanagar


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *