Top Stories

Madhya Pradesh elections: Congress names Manoj Malve as its candidate from Amla Assembly constituency



Madhya Pradesh Assembly Elections: Congress on Monday named Manoj Malve as its candidate from the Amla Assembly constituency in Betul district for the upcoming Madhya Pradesh Assembly Elections. With this, Congress has announced the names of its candidates for all 230 seats in the state.

Congress’s announcement of their candidate for the Amla assembly constituency, reserved for Scheduled Caste (SC), was kept on hold. The Congress party had reserved the Amla constituency seat for Nisha Bangre. Nisha Bangre was seeking a ticket but the ruling BJP government has not yet accepted her resignation from the services and the matter at present is pending in the court. In protest against the delay in accepting her resignation, Nisha Bangre organized a Nyay Yatra from Betul to Bhopal. During this journey, she had a confrontation with the police in Bhopal.

Manoj was the Congress candidate for this constituency in 2018 as well. However, he narrowly lost the election to the BJP candidate. Manoj Malve was defeated by Dr. Yogesh Pandagre of the BJP.

Congress’ first and second list

In the first list of 144  candidates, the Opposition party has fielded State Congress President and former Chief Minister Kamal Nath from Chhindwara while former CM Digvijay Singh’s brother Lakshman Singh has been fielded from Chachoura. 

In its second list of 85 candidates for the upcoming election, the party gave a ticket to Atif Akil, son of sitting MLA Arif Akil, from Bhopal North. Ravindra Singh Tomar got a ticket against Narendra Singh Tomar from Dimani while  Abhay Mishra has been fielded from Simaria. 

Congress also gave a ticket to Girja Shankar from Hoshangabad, who switched from BJP. Kamlesh Shah from Amarwada, Sohan Valmiki from Parasia and Nilesh Uike from  Pandhurna have also been named in the second list of candidates. 

Madhya Pradesh Assembly elections

The election to the 230-member assembly in Madhya Pradesh is scheduled to be held on November 17, while the counting of votes will take place on December 3.

In the 2018 assembly polls, the Congress had won 114 seats, while the BJP got 109. However, the Congress government fell after many MLAs under the leadership of Jyotiraditya Scindia, who later became a Union minister, joined the BJP. The BJP returned to power in March 2020 with Shivraj Singh Chouhan as chief minister for a fresh term. The BJP’s current strength in the assembly is 127.

Also Read: ‘Mai taiyar hu… phad do kapde’: Digvijaya’s light-hearted reaction on ‘tear clothes’ remark

Also Read: Samajwadi Party releases 12 more names for Madhya Pradesh, replaces Joura seat candidate


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *