Top Stories

Lok Sabha Elections: Congress releases second list of 43 candidates, fields Nakul Nath, Gaurav Gogoi


Representational image
Image Source : FILE PHOTO Representational image

The Congress on Tuesday released its second of 43 candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. Key leaders who have figured in the ‘Grand Old Party’ second list are Nakul Nath (son of former Madhya Pradesh CM Kamal Nath) from Chhindwara, Vaibhav Gehlot (son of ex-Rajasthan CM Ashok Gehlot) from Jalore, Pradeep Tamta from Almora, Rahul Kaswan from Churu, Gaurav Gogoi.

Both Gaurav Gogoi and Vaibhav Gehlot have changed their seats.

Congress gave 76.7 per cent of tickets in its second list to candidates from SC, ST, and OBC categories. The next Central Election Committee meeting of the party will take place on March 15.

In the second list, Congress announced candidates from five states and one Union Territory. From Assam, the party declared 12 candidates, Gujarat 7, Madhya Pradesh 10, Rajasthan 10, Uttarakhand 3, and one from Daman and Diu. 

Congress fielded 10 candidates from Rajasthan including former chief minister Ashok Gehlot’s son Vaibhav from Jalore Lok Sabha seat and sitting MP Rahul Kaswan, who recently joined the party leaving the BJP, from Churu.

Among 10 fielded from Rajasthan include Vaibhav Gehlot, three sitting MLAs, including Lalit Yadav from Alwar Lok Sabha seat, Harish Meena from Tonk Lok Sabha seat and Brijendra Ola from Jhunjhunu Lok Sabha seat. Among the new face in the list are Karan Singh Uchiyarda, who is presently party’s state general secretary, and Sanjana Jatav from Bharatpur.

Lalit Yadav is the Congress’ sitting MLA from Mundawar, Harish Meena from Deoli-Uniara and Brijendra Ola from Jhunjhunu assembly seat.

Harish Meena had earlier represented Dausa Lok Sabha seat while Udailal Anjana, who was a minister in the previous Ashok Gehlot’s government and represented the Chittorgarh Lok Sabha seat, has been fielded from the same seat. Anjana had contested the 2023 assembly polls from the Nimbahera seat unsuccessfully.

Govind Meghwal, who was also a former minister in the previous Congress government in the state, has been fielded from Bikaner. Former IAS officer Tarachand Meena has been given a ticket from the Udaipur Lok Sabha seat.

India Tv - Congress candidates, Lok Sabha elections 2024

Image Source : INDIA TVCongress releases second list of candidates for Lok Sabha elections 2024.

India Tv - Congress candidates, Lok Sabha elections 2024

Image Source : INDIA TVCongress releases second list of candidates for Lok Sabha elections 2024.

A few days ago, BJP released its first list of 195 candidates. The list featured PM Modi among other top leaders of the party.

The second list came a day after the Congress’ central election committee, chaired by party chief Mallikarjun Kharge, met at the party headquarters here to finalise the candidates.

In the meeting, discussions were held for more than 60 seats in the states of Gujarat, Rajasthan, Uttarakhand, Madhya Pradesh and Assam and the Union Territory of Daman and Diu. Congress leaders Ajay Maken and Pawan Khera were also at the briefing.

With inputs from PTI

ASLO READ | Lok Sabha Polls 2024: Vaibhav Gehlot to Phool Singh Baraiya, check state-wise list of Congress candidates


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *