Top Stories

India vs Pakistan Asia Cup 2023: Virat Kohli registers historic 13,000 runs in ODIs with 47th hundred


Virat Kohli vs Pakistan in Asia Cup match on Sep 11, 2023
Image Source : GETTY Virat Kohli vs Pakistan in Asia Cup match on Sep 11, 2023

Virat Kohli became the fifth cricketer in the world to reach the 13,000-run mark in ODIs as he smashed his 47th ODI hundred in the Asia Cup 2023 Super 4 match against Pakistan on Monday, September 11. Kohli registered multiple achievements during his sensational century to help India dominate the game at Colombo’s R Premadasa Stadium. 

The 34-year-old star batter needed only 90 runs to reach the 13,000 runs in ODIs on a reserve day of the rain-hit game. Virat also registered his 47th century on 50-over cricket and is now only two hundreds behind Sachin Tendulkar‘s record of 49 centuries. Kohli also became the first player to score ODI centuries in four consecutive innings at a single venue.

Kohli and KL Rahul started India’s innings on reserve day after a delay in the start on Monday. Both batters dominated the game with brilliant hundreds and pulled off an unbeaten 233-run stand for the third wicket to help India score 356 runs for 2 in 50 overs. Kohli finished the innings with three consecutive boundaries, including a six on the last ball off Faheem Ashraf. He scored 122* runs off 94 balls and Rahul remained unbeaten on 111 runs off 106 balls with memorable knocks.

Most runs in ODI history:

  1. Sachin Tendulkar – 18426 runs in 452 innings
  2. Kumar Sangakkara – 14234 runs in 380 innings
  3. Ricky Ponting – 13704 runs in 365 innings
  4. Sanath Jayasuriya – 13430 runs in 433 innings
  5. Virat Kohli – 13000* runs in 267 innings

Meanwhile, Pakistan lost their star pacer Haris Rauf to an injury today and they clearly felt his absence. Shadab Khan and Rauf took one wicket each but almost everyone struggled to control economy rate against Kohli and Rahul’s carnage in Colombo.

India Playing XI: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj

Pakistan Playing XI: Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Agha Salman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf

Latest Cricket News


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *