India News

Manohar Lal Khattar, Piyush Goyal, Nitin Gadkari Among Prominent Names In BJPs 2nd List Of Candidates For Lok Sabha Polls


The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) today released its second list of candidates for the Lok Sabha elections in 2024. The second list has 72 names and with this, the BJP has announced a total of 267 candidates so far. However, since Pawan Singh backed out from the Asansol seat, the total number of candidates announced so far stands at 266. The BJP has fielded former Haryana CM Manohar Lal Khattar from Karnal while Union Minister Piyush Goyal will contest from the Mumbai North seat. 

Other candidates in the list include Ashok Tanwar from Sirsa, Banto Kataria from Ambala, Dharamabir Singh from Bhiwani-Mahendragarh, Rao Inderjit Singh Yadav from Gurugram and Krishan Pal Gurjar from Faridabad. There are three former chief ministers in the list – Trivendra Singh Rawat, Manohar Lal Khattar and BS Bommai.

The party has fielded Nitin Gadkari from Nagpur, Tejashwi Surya from Bengaluru South and Pralhad Joshi from the Dharwad and Anil Baluni from the Garhwal Lok Sabha seat. BJP also announced candidates for 20 out of 48 seats in Maharashtra. Mumbai North’s two-term MP Gopal Shetty did not get ticket again as he was replaced by Piyush Goyal. Manoj Kotak, the MP from Mumbai North East, was also denied ticket and sitting MLA Miheer Kotecha has been given ticket from the seat. Pankaja Munde has been given the ticket from Beed, replacing Pritam Munde, who was the MP from here. Current Cabinet Minister Sudhir Mungantiwar has been given the ticket for Lok Sabha from Chandrapur.

Some other prominent candidates are Harsh Malhotra (East Delhi), former Karnataka Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai (Haveri), former Uttarakhand Chief Minister Trivendra Singh Rawat (Hardwar), Anurag Singh Thakur (Hamirpur), and Shobha Karandlaje (Bangalore North). Yaduveer Krishnadatta Wadiyar of the erstwhile Mysore royal family replaces Pratap Simha as the BJP candidate in the Mysore seat. 


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *