India News

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Gourav Vallabh Joins BJP Hours After Quitting Congress


New Delhi: Just hours after quitting Congress, grand old party’s spokesperson Gourav Vallabh joined the Bharatiya Janata Party on Thursday. Vallabh joined the BJP at the party headquarters in Delhi in the presence of its national general secretary Vinod Tawde ahead of the Lok Sabha elections 2024.

Leaving the party, Vallabh said  he can neither raise anti-Sanatan slogans, nor abuse “wealth creators” day in and day out.

Earlier today, Gourav Vallabh shared his resignation letter written to Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge on social media platform X. He said he was not feeling comfortable with the directionless way the party was moving.

Vallabh said, “I can neither raise anti-Sanatan slogans nor abuse wealth creators day in and day out. Therefore, I resign from all posts and primary membership of the party.”

In the two-page letter, the former Congress spokesperson also alleged that Congress’s stand on economic matters had “always been to humiliate and abuse the wealth creators of the country.”

“Today, we have turned against those economic liberalisation, privatisation and globalisation (LPG) policies, for which the world has given us credit for implementing in the country. Is it wrong to earn money by doing business in our country?” he wrote.

“When I joined the party, my only aim was to use my ability and capability in economic matters in the interest of the country. We may not be in power, but we could have presented the party’s economic policy-making in the national interest in a better way in our manifesto and elsewhere. But, this effort was not made at the party level,” he said.

Significantly, Congress MP Rahul Gandhi has been severly critical of industry bigwigs like Guatam Adani and has alleged the Prime Minister Narendra Modi has given them undue favours.

Gourav Vallabh had contested the Rajasthan assembly election from the Udaipur constituency in 2023. However, he lost to the BJP candidate with a margin of around 32,000 votes.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *