India News

Haryana Politics News LIVE Updates: CM Manohar Lal Khattar Resigns, BJPs Legislature Party Meet Begins


New Delhi: In a dramatic turn of events, Haryana’s Chief Minister, Manohar Lal Khattar, along with his cabinet, tendered their resignations to Governor Bandaru Dattatreya, reported by Zee News TV. This move has fueled rumors of a rift within the state’s ruling coalition, comprised of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Jannayak Janata Party (JJP), particularly over seat distribution as the Lok Sabha elections loom on the horizon. 

BJP’s Legislature Meeting On Haryana Begins

A crucial legislative meeting of the BJP is underway with attendance from all 41 BJP MLAs. Prominent figures such as Tarun Chugh, Union Minister Arjun Munda, and the party’s state in-charge Biplab Kumar Deb are also present in the meeting. Discussions with five independent MLAs and HLP’s Gopal Kanda, who back the BJP-led government, are also anticipated.

Current Haryana Assembly Composition

In the Haryana Legislative Assembly, which comprises 90 members, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) holds a significant presence with 41 legislators. The Congress follows with 30 seats, and the Jannayak Janata Party (JJP) has 10 representatives. To secure a majority, a party or coalition needs at least 46 members. The BJP enjoys the support of 6 out of 7 independent legislators. Additionally, the assembly includes one member each from the Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) and the Haryana Lokhit Party (HLP).

The majority mark in the 90-member Haryana Assembly stands at 46. The BJP, with its 41 MLAs and the backing of six independent MLAs, is well-positioned. The sole HLP legislator, Gopal Kanda, also supports the BJP. Should the JJP withdraw, the BJP would still command the support of 48 MLAs, ensuring a smooth governance process. The assembly also comprises 30 Congress MLAs and 10 from the JJP. Additionally, there is one MLA from the INLD and another independent legislator.

The six independent MLAs who are poised to play a pivotal role in the sustenance of the BJP government are:

  • Nayan Pal Rawat
  • Dharampal Gonder
  • Randhir Singh Golan
  • Rakesh Daultabad
  • Ranjit Singh
  • Sombeer Sangwan


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *