Top Stories

Shubman Gill becomes fastest batter to reach historic ODI milestone; goes past Hashim Amla, Babar Azam

Image Source : AP Shubman Gill batting vs New Zealand at HPCA in Dharamsala in World Cup 2023.

India’s emerging batting sensation Shubman Gill is going through an amazing purple patch and is on a record-shattering spree. The Fazilka-born recorded yet another historic milestone as he went past South Africa’s legendary batter Hashim Amla to become the fastest player to score 2000 runs in ODI cricket.

Gill’s record came against New Zealand at the Himachal Pradesh Cricket Association Stadium (HPCA) in Dharamsala. The 24-year-old went past some of the biggest names of world cricket to scale the milestone. 

The enviable record was previously held by Amla. Amla had taken only 40 innings (41 matches) to score 2000 runs in the 50-over format and had gone past Pakistan’s great Zaheer Abbas. Abbas had scaled the milestone way back in 1983 against India in Jaipur in his 45th innings (45th match).

Amla scored his 2000th ODI run against India in Gqeberha on January 21, 2011, and after a period of more than 13 years, Gill has overtaken Amla to claim the top spot. Before the Indian youngster, it was Shikhar Dhawan, who was the fastest Indian to score 2000 ODI runs. Dhawan had taken 48 innings (49 matches) to scale the milestone.

The list of top 10 players who have been the fastest to score 2000 ODI runs includes some prominent batters like Babar Azam, Kevin Pietersen, and Sir Vivian Richards among others.

India’s Playing XI:

Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj

Bench: Shardul Thakur, Ishan Kishan, Ravichandran Ashwin

Support Staff: Rahul Dravid, Vikram Rathour, Paras Mhambrey, T Dilip

New Zealand’s Playing XI:

Devon Conway, Will Young, Rachin Ravindra, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham (c & wk), Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, Mitchell Santner, Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult

Bench: Tim Southee, Ish Sodhi, James Neesham

Support Staff: Gary Stead, Luke Ronchi, Shane Jurgensen

Latest Cricket News

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *