Ben Stokes signs only one-year extension, ECB offers central contracts to seven new players


Ben Stokes and Jos Buttler during ODI Series against New
Image Source : GETTY Ben Stokes and Jos Buttler during ODI Series against New Zealand Sep 2023

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) announced fresh central contracts from the men’s team on Tuesday, October 24. Seven new players, including rising star Harry Brook, received their first-ever central contracts which will be valid from Oct 1, 2023. 

In a big surprise to fans, red-ball team captain Ben Stokes has signed a contract extension for one year only. Reece Topley and Moeen Ali are also among eight players with one-year extensions along with star batter David Malan who was not part of the previous central contracts list. 

Rehan Ahmed, Gus Atkinson, Harry Brook, Brydon Carse, Ben Duckett, Matthew Potts and Josh Tongue are seven new players to bag central contracts from the ECB. 

“We are rewarding those players who we expect to make a significant impact over the coming years playing for England, “Rob Key, ECB Managing Director said in a statement. “It is great news and a credit to the players for demonstrating their commitment to English cricket in the ever-changing landscape of the sport. I would like to congratulate all the players who have been offered contracts. They will play a pivotal role in England’s efforts over the next few years.”

England Three-Year Central Contracts: Harry Brook (Yorkshire), Joe Root (Yorkshire), Mark Wood (Durham)

England Two-Year Central Contracts: Rehan Ahmed (Leicestershire), Jofra Archer (Sussex), Gus Atkinson (Surrey), Jonathan Bairstow (Yorkshire), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Brydon Carse (Durham), Zak Crawley (Kent), Sam Curran (Surrey), Ben Duckett (Nottinghamshire), Liam Livingstone (Lancashire), Ollie Pope (Surrey), Matthew Potts (Durham), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire), Josh Tongue (Nottinghamshire – from 1 November), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire)

England One-Year Central Contracts: Moeen Ali (Warwickshire), James Anderson (Lancashire), Ben Foakes (Surrey), Jack Leach (Somerset), Dawid Malan (Yorkshire), Ollie Robinson (Sussex), Ben Stokes (Durham). Reece Topley (Surrey)

England Development Contracts: Matthew Fisher (Yorkshire), Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire), John Turner (Hampshire)

Latest Cricket News


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *